remembering Queen Liliuʻokalani

hpliliuo1.jpg

115 years ago today, Queen Liliuʻokalani was arrested and imprisoned in ʻIolani Palace, forced by a cadre of American businessmen (and their armed reinforcements) to abdicate her throne and the previously internationally recognized sovereignty of Hawaiʻi.

I have been thinking about her today, reading her book a little. I remember in seventh or eighth grade, we were required to do reports on a historical figure of our choice. The assignment asked us to dress up like the person and address the class with our words of wisdom. I do not remember exactly how I thought of Hawaiʻi, or my Native Hawaiian ancestry at that point: I guess I mean I don’t think I really knew, as a kid in Kentucky, all that much about it. Except that I was proud and protective of it. I had been to Hawaiʻi a few times, and that was farther than most of my classmates had ever been.

So I chose Queen Liliʻuokalani as my person to emulate in seventh grade. We had always had in our house the peacock blue paperback that is her autobiography (to which UPenn amazingly has a link to a full text version online here). I wore my mom’s holokū dress, the white missionary-style so characteristic of 19th century Hawaiian royalty. She wore the holokū for her high school graduation, and I wore one too when I graduated from Punahou. I remember the dress, and how precious I thought it was, and how nervous I was speaking to the class. I do not remember the speechʻs content or how it was received, but I wish I did. I cannot imagine either the students or my teachers understanding what I was saying, or why I wanted to say it, very well at all.

I am looking at her autobiography (Hawaii’s Story) again now, the same one that has always been in my house. My tūtū Liliaʻs cursive script graces the front page, detailing when she received this book as a gift, 1977. Liliuʻokalani writes about this day in 1893:

The idea of abdicating never originated with me…. For myself, I would have chosen death rather than to have signed it; but it was represented to me that by my signing this paper all the persons who had been arrested, all my people now in trouble by reason of their love and loyalty towards me, would be immediately released. Think of my position,– sick, a lone woman in prison, scarcely knowing who was my friend, or listened to my words only to betray me, without legal advice or friendly counsel, and the stream of blood ready to flow unless it was stayed by my pen….

I have never expected the revolutionists of 1887 and 1893 to willingly restore the rights notoriously taken by force or intimidation; but this act, obtained under duress, should have no weight with the authorities of the United States, to whom I appealed. But it may be asked, why did I not make some protest at the time, or at least shortly thereafter…? I did.

It hurts me to read this, still, every time I do. It hurts too that ʻIolani Palace, overshadowed in downtown Honolulu by multiplying office towers and condos, is not understandable to most people who go by it, to all the tourists who snap their pictures in front of it. Over the break, I saw an old episode of Hawaii 5-0. They flashed a picture of ʻIolani Palace that made it seem as if it was the police headquarters. I know you have to choose what and how youʻre hurt by all the ugly things there are around us. But this will always hurt, this day, these appropriations, these forgettings. Remembering Queen Liliuʻokalani is like missing a family member. Quite literally because of my tūtū’s inscription. But it’s more than that too, because today she is remembered by so many Native Hawaiians. And after reading so much about ghosts in one of my classes this week, I am left wishing that she was not just beloved to us, but haunted the rest of America somehow.

One thought on “remembering Queen Liliuʻokalani

  1. Aloha Dear Maile – I came across your blog quite by accident on this cool (by Waiehu standards) Sunday morning. Ehukai left for work (lifeguard) earlier, Konane spent the weekend in Hana with friends and Nainoa is sleeping after a Saturday night out. Uncle Randy just left to drive out to Keanae where he plans to meet with some Hawaiians in that community who are creating quite a stir because of actions they’ve taken to protect their `aina. Best that Uncle explain that to you himself. Anyway, I just read your mana`o on Queen Lili`uokalani and was struck by your honest emotion. Your Hawaiian heart beats in harmony with many of our hearts. Come visit us on Maui……. Love you pleny, plenty! Your Maui `Ohana

Leave a Reply

